13 Second 79 Stang.

Keanansfords

Nov 12, 2016
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the drag scene and need some help. I've built a couple 351 clevelands for cruising but not a 302, nor for performance. I've been asked by a friend to build him up a 302 to run 13.9xx. The bottom end is a 306 shortblock. He has Edelbrock performer heads, stock ford intake off an 1983 era tbird. And 3.73 gearing. He'll be running an AOD in it. What I'm kinda looking for is carb suggestions, cam suggestions(e303?), Maybe arp rod bolts? Roller rockers. What else do you guys have for me? Any and All suggestions welcome!

• Sponsors (?)

In what kind of ride? I would think 13.9 would be fairly easy unless your drive'n a dump truck.
It's a 79. It'll actually have an offenhauser 360 intake instead of a stock ford I mentioned. 3.73 gear, edelbrock performer heads on a 306 short block hooked up to an aod. I'm thinking about a 650-675cfm carb?

I' m not sure, autos are not my thing.
I can tell you the stock AOD is a slushy transmission, and not really suited for the 1/4 mile.
I'm sure there are guys that have done it, and will give more specific advice.
I've got a builder for the trans that does racing AOD's all the time. I'm thinking around a 2800 or something may be a good fit after doing some research.

No to the e303 cam. If you want a good cam recommendation(s) you should contact comp cams,lunati,bullet cams,etc and fill out their online forms. As a general recommendation a comp 264 or 270hr would work well. A 600 is more than enough carb but a 650 would work also. With 3.73's and those cams you'll want around a 24-3000 stall. Should get you solidly in the 13's and possibly high 12's if the car is setup correctly.

Reactions: 1 user
Just my two cents, get a quickfuel carburetor. The mechanical secondary comes in a 650, 670 for vacuum.

Don't get any though my larger than that though.

Trickflow stage one cam is nice too.