96-98 cobra mods

Daniel50

Mar 30, 2005
Discovery Bay, CA
so im new to 4v modular motor and been reading up a lot on them by using the good old search button and this is what i found.

Mods worth doing

-JLT cai
-4.10 gear
-Longtubes, o/r x, catback
-underdrive pulleys

*ROUGHLY how much does each mod above add to a healthy stock motor.

Mods not worth doing
-throttle body
-maf
-anything below a 4.10 gear

of course im not including obvious things like a blower, turbo, nitrous, ported heads, cams, intake manifold that builds power on any car you put it on pretty much.

my goal is to make 300rwhp on my n/a car.

• Sponsors (?)

so im new to 4v modular motor and been reading up a lot on them by using the good old search button and this is what i found.

Mods worth doing

-JLT cai
-4.10 gear
-underdrive pulleys

Mods not worth doing
-throttle body
-maf

of course im not including obvious things like a blower, turbo, nitrous, ported heads, cams, intake manifold that builds power on any car you put it on pretty much.

I have 3.73's and love them:nice: I have O/R H-pipe, Flowmaster Cat back, removed intake silencer and a Jet chip. The previous owner said it did 299.8 RWHP on a dynojet in Houston. JLT is a killer intake and would probally get me a few more horses but you lose the strut tower brace. The WMS intake is really nice and you can still use the stock strut tower brace. Down side is its $450:(

Change the MAF and T-body when, and if you do a supercharger. The cars breath just fine with thoes N/A.

Mods worth doing

-JLT cai
-4.10 gear
-underdrive pulleys

Mods not worth doing
-throttle body
-maf

You should be close to 300 with those mods. As far as hp per mod....depends. Each car responds differently and depends on the tune. (add a good tune in there- SCT)

I would recommend 4.30's. But you are right, nothing below 4.10's. Especially with exhaust and the improved airflow.