Clutch Cable Issues? Help

sgaustin83

Sep 21, 2014
I was driving my 65 mustang today that has a 5speed, when i went to push the clutch in something snapped and the clutch went to the floor. I believe the clutch cable snapped, i traced the cable attached to the clutch and a 4-5" section of cable came out snapped. Im new to the old cars and still trying to learn, i believe it does have a stage two clutch to support the 302. The clutch was very hard to press and assumed it still needed to be broken in, was the clutch cable over tightened, or what could be the possible issue? Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

I don't think anything went wrong except the cable was just tired. What I'm wondering about is the set up. Is this a Tremek or TKO out of a fox body car? Just make sure your cable is running in smoothe curves. To say; make sure your cable isn't routed where there's agressive bends or curves. All the cable routing should be subtle and gradual.

What would make it hard to press the clutch? The cable looks like its ran without any drastic bends or curves. It broke about 5 inches down the line from the clutch pedal. Thanks

In my I intial post I said I traced it to the clutch. I meant to the clutch pedal. When I pulled on the cable attached to the pedal 4-5" came out. I sure it's a stage two, the cable doesn't look like its wrapped around anything or have kinks. Is it possible it was just over tightened? Thanks for all the help

No dumbness around here. I'm just surprised that your clutch pedal is so tough that it's uncomfortable to drive. Especially with a 302. The actual clutch isn't going to have anything to do with what you're feeling at the pedal. It's the pressure plate you're feeling. Unless you're engine is built to the hilt...say a stroker at 347+ CI...you honestly don't need anything more than a stock clutch and pressure plate. Do you know what pressure plate was installed?