Engine Engine Options

4g63mark

Jan 24, 2014
Hi guys. First off, let me say I am still learning these cars, so please go easy on me. I'm torn on which route to go for my power plant. What I do know for certain is I don't want a boosted application, or an LS1 swap.

The car is still drivable but the motor is finally giving up after 228,000 miles. I will likely rebuild my 2V or pull it for a 351 roller carbed build.

My goals are simple:
#1. Get as much power as I can out of 91 octane crap gas they sell in California.
#2. Beat my friend who has a 00 Camaro with full bolt ons and a 175 shot
#3. Hear that beautiful 7,000 RPM symphony

I'm confident I can accomplish these goals since I have a 400 pound weight advantage. Plus, I'm not afraid to use race gas when we go racing.

I've been trying to learn as much as possible about both set ups, but it sounds like the 2V 4.6 is only good for about 425 HP. Is this correct? Obviously a bored and stroked SBF is good for more, but at what cost?

• Sponsors (?)

Everything was all good until I saw "175 shot". He's north of 500Hp when on the spray which means you're not going to beat him with a 2V, period. You're going to need a budget, a BIG budget & forced induction if you want to play with the LS1. Co-worker of mine has a bone stock 00' SS and I can keep up with him as we stand right now but, I know full well his motor has a much higher ceiling for making power than mine does once mods start piling up. Those motors are no joke & it was the Camaro's one and only redeeming feature from that era.

Never ever build a car with the goal of beating some mullet sporting douchebag camaro driver! Damn son that is worse than arguing with diesel pickemup truck drivers.

Just build your self a nice :leghump:ing mustang and enjoy it bro, there will always be someone faster. But, 95% of the other cars on the road will always be slower :rlaugh:

Reactions: 2 users
Not gonna happen without: