Guide to replacing your 2001 Mach 460 head unit

Discussion in '1996 - 2004 SN95 Mustang -General/Talk-' started by mesc7, Jul 14, 2004.


  1. ChingonStang

    ChingonStang Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas, Tejas
    It has three amp pre-outs - front, rear and sub. If you are using external amps, your amps should already have built in crossovers. If you are using components, they will come with passive crossovers. Otherwise, you could purchase a active crossover, but that requires the additional purchase of external amps.
    #21
  2. eliteJAE

    eliteJAE Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stanford University
    i have a 99 with a Mach 460 setup and i used a $8.99 Scosche harness from walmart and it works great :lol: . im using the stock mach speakers and stock mach amps, the only thing thats new is a pioneer deck. btw, if youre gonna go the route i did, make sure u get the CORRECT scosche adapter, as its labeled for vehicles with premium sound setups such as the mach system and premium factory amp setups for other models and makes :D
    #22
  3. Kraw

    Kraw Nail On The Head El Moderatoro Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    ATL via MSY via MLU via Pitkin, La
    I originally used the hp and lp features on my D3, but ended up buying bass blockers anyways. They made a nice difference. Now I just need a basslink to throw in the trunk
    #23
  4. phoenix706

    phoenix706 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    confused

    I'm seriously thinking about replacing the mach 460 in my '01 GT, but I think I'm not reading something correctly... If you plug the harness' rca's in the new radio and set the crossover at 50Hz, and connect the tweeter cables to the LF, LR, RF, and RR with 170Hz bass blockers, how are the sounds in the 51-169Hz ranges played? Is there a second set of RCA plugs that go into the new radio or something? Thanks in advance for the help!
    #24
  5. phoenix706

    phoenix706 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    This might make a little more sense with my earlier question

    As I said, I might just be misreading something. In an earlier post, it was said that 170Hz for the tweeters and 50Hz for the subs were good crossover frequencies. In the first post for the thread, it was said that "Wire the L/F+-, R/F+-, L/R+-, and R/R+- from your radio’s wiring harness to the corresponding wires on the Metra harness. This will send an amplified signal to your tweeters. If you don’t have a high-pass crossover, you will need to put the bass blockers in here." If I'm looking at the right wiring harness, it has the normal wires for L/F+-, R/F+-, L/R+-, R/R+-, dimmer, power, etc. and a set of RCA jacks (which I'm assuming are for sending the subwoofer sound). Thus, I'm confused as to what is driving the mid-range between 50Hz (the highest the subs will play based on the crossover) and 170Hz (the lowest the tweeters will play). Obviously I'm missing something, so I just want to make sure I have a clear understanging before taking the leap and buying new equipment only to either wire it up wrong or not be happy with the sound. Once again, thanks in advance for the help.
    #25
  6. dark_cobra_01

    dark_cobra_01 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    RI BEACHES
    Ok..I've read through all of this on SN for a few days now..

    I am installng a JVC KW-AVX810 Unit.. The HU itself has a High and Low pass x-over built in. My Biggest question is this now..

    My Sub Preout is a single RCA female connector.. The Metra Kit has 2 Male RCA connectors (which I understand go out to 2 different amps in the facotry system) So, should I be using a Y Cable to spilt off the SUB output signal into both connectors to send it on it's way to both amps or does using a Y connector screw up the voltage load or someting..

    Anyone got the answer for this ??
    #26
  7. nhra427

    nhra427 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    A Y connector is the only way to do that being one amp runs the right and one runs the left. I am confused on what the tweeters and subs are crossed over at. I know from my other stereos that crossing over a tweeter at 170hz should blow them. In my active crossover system the tweeters are around 2000hz mids run from 100hz to 2000hz and the subs 80 and down. Sounds to me like the mach system is losing a lot of frequency's. I am going to install my active deck(Alpine 9835) and running the tweeters off the high outputs and the subs on the mid outputs and I can cross them over at almost and point and vary the slopes.
    #27
  8. ben_blackwell1@

    ben_blackwell1@ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Augusta, KS
    just replaced my 2001 mach 460 6 disc in-dash stereo cuz the discs kept sticking and it finally ****ed me off enough to punch the damn thing. needless to say, the plastic display is not very sturdy. once i found the right stereo plug ins, replacement was a breeze thanks to some helpful info i got here.:nice:
    #28
  9. MoSt-WanTeD

    MoSt-WanTeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Guys,
    Sorry for bringing back an old post, but it should probally go hear anyway. I was just wondering if someone could answer my questions about a certain head unit and if it is compatible. The Head Unit is a Jensen VM9022, which is a double din and i was just wondering if it would fit in my mustang 01' with the mach 460. Thanks!
    Kevin
    #29
  10. Chrome_Rust

    Chrome_Rust Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Findlay, Ohio
    To revive an old post again...

    I am trying to install a Mach 460 Hu from a 2001 GT in my 93. I have the entire interior save door panels and rear trim, in my 93 coupe from a 2001 GT. I want the stock radio in there but dont want all the hasseld with the factory amps. I am going to run an aftermarket 2 channel amp to run the midbass and a single channel to run subs. I need a factory wiring diagram that lists the colors of the stock harness in relation to what wire does what. If anyone has that, that would be awesome.

    Nevermind.... I got it all working. Lot's simpler when you swap the entire harness....
    #30
  11. Mcstango2001

    Mcstango2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where are the amplifiers located?
    could i use the factory amplifiers with aftermarket speakers? or do i need a amplifier?
    im new to this help any advice is greatly appreciated
    #31
  12. 02SonicBlueGT

    02SonicBlueGT Founding Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ankeny, IA
    I had my head unit replaced in my 2002 gt w/ mach 460 by a local shop that has since gone out of business. I had them put in an alpine iva-w505 and ever since they did it I thought the sound was really weak. I was detailing my car this weekend and I realized that my door speakers aren't working and I'm guessing that my rear sub speakers aren't working either. Somehow the stereo seems to be only running through the tweeters, is there a quick fix for this or am I going to have to take this to another stereo place and have them run it through the new wiring harnesses?
    #32
  13. evitkus

    evitkus New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #33
  14. Sixstringmayhem

    Sixstringmayhem New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2004 mustang

    would this wiring harness work for 2004 mustang?
    I just took the factory mach 460 out to take a look behind it and there was only one harness connected to the stock mach 460 and no where to plug the smaller metra harness with the RCA cables on it. would the metra harness work for me?
    #34
  15. Sixstringmayhem

    Sixstringmayhem New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2004 mustang

    Heres what im talking about. there's nowhere to put the smaller harness with the RCA's into. The stereo says MACH on the front but maybe its not the 460? its not the 1000. Please help me out thanks

    [​IMG]
    #35
  16. BetterBaGT

    BetterBaGT New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ (unfortunately)
    For the people who have replaced the head unit but have not rewired the speakers (are getting poor sound quality to start), what settings did you do for the equalizer to make it sound better? I just replaced my head unit with a Pioneer one and it sounds very flat.
    #36
  17. sbelyo

    sbelyo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way to disable the eq? like a pass through type setting
    #37
  18. yelnats69

    yelnats69 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fla USA /Wales UK
    Wanted Old Head UNIT

    Any member swapped out their head unit? I need an old unit for spares, I understand a lot have CD errors.
    I have the 6 cd version used in 2002 convertible

    Has anyone fitted a ipod connector to that radio

    Thanks

    stan
    #38
  19. linux3000

    linux3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i now this is old here but if i buy a radio with this
    Crossover Filter
    Selects the cut-off frequency
    of the front/rear speakers
    (HPF) and subwoofer (LPF).
    LPF: 50 Hz,
    60 Hz, 80 Hz,
    100 Hz (z),
    120 Hz
    To select the cut-off
    frequency. (Available only
    when “Subwoofer” is set to
    “ON.”)
    During reception/
    playback
    HPF: OFF (z) To not cut out the
    frequencies.
    HPF: 50 Hz,
    60 Hz, 80 Hz,
    100 Hz, 120 Hz
    To select the cut-off
    frequency.
    Subwoofer
    Phase:
    Normal (z),
    Reverse
    To select the subwoofer
    phase. (Available only
    when “Subwoofer” is


    is this a high-low crossover???
    #39
  20. phoenix706

    phoenix706 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    It sounds like the head unit allows you to set the crossover points for the speakers and subwoofer independently. If that's the case, then yes, it's got both a high and low-pass crossover built in. If I'm not mistaken that's the same basic crossover setup as the Pioneer I was running for a few years. It sounded pretty good with the stock speakers, but I finally ended up gutting the whole system in my convertible and put in new amps, new component speakers, and a 10-inch sub. Kicks major @$$ now :)
    #40
    linux3000 likes this.

Share This Page