Hello all....few Qs

SitDown

Founding Member
Mar 3, 2001
Chicagoland
Well im new to the classics and will likely be in here daily with a barrage of Questions so i thought id introduce myself...

Ive owned my money pit fox body for ~7yrs now and just recently purchased a 65 fastback off my father. It was a gift we got him several yrs back which he lost interest in, and ive decided to purchase to replace the LX. ill be taking most of the drivetrian from my 89 and selling it to go full boar on the 65... heres a shot of it, needs some body love but is rust free and sports some nice stuff already: strange 9" with locker, 4piston front brakes, vette rear brakes, eiback springs, fuel cell, oil cooler...

103-0392_IMG.JPG

My Qs...

Steering: the manual steering is awful. I run a flaming river manual rack in my 89 with big 245 tires and the 65's manual box is 3x worse with puny 215 tires. Im not sure if this is a 19:1 or a 16:1, but nonetheless id like to put a 16:1 power unit in, does anyone know what code i should be looking for?

Brakes: i think my brakes should be more than sufficient, just curious about them. They are a huge 4 piston caliper, is this a standard GT caliper? i plan to put a power booster on as they are manual as well right now and want to know what im working with.

Headers: There was a 302 in the car originally and there were some funky 2 piece headers in there, well ive lost those since. what LT headers do ppl typically run in these with a 302. my 331 will be making just under 400rwhp NA so id really want something that will flow, id prefer a 1 3/4, but it is mighty tight in there and i dotn want to drop a mint of custom headers.

dont want to smother you guys, so ill hold off...but any advice you have id greatly appreciate. The info avail to these cars is harder to come by than the fox bodys

Thanks

Tom

• Sponsors (?)

its good you introduced yourself, welcome to the site!