Here Is A Good One - What Happens With A Tune On Different Modes

NJBob

Dec 18, 2014
NJ
I have been researching buying the SCT X4 as my next mod, but I saw an interesting question. What happens when you do a Tune, and you change from Normal to Sport or Track?

Any thought's?

• Sponsors (?)

I personally have noticed no appreciable difference in the tune when switching between driving modes. When on the dyno we used several different modes to ensure that there were no changes in a/f ratio from one to the next. Being an automatic, the transmission is most affected by the mode change. I have no experience as far as the manual transmission goes but would imagine that the results will be the same.

The only thing that I think I notice with a stick is that it seems like it kind of holds the rpms higher through shifting. That, and the traction control is reduced a good amount. Possibly raises the redline, too.

I would also like to know the answer to this. According to a couple of reviews, of the 2015 Mustang GT, Race Mode not only turns off the traction control but changes the engine parameters. So that tells me that the computer is telling the engine to run a certain way in one mode and another in race mode. So would I have to get a tune for each mode especially if I do some serious modifications?

I have been researching buying the SCT X4 as my next mod, but I saw an interesting question. What happens when you do a Tune, and you change from Normal to Sport or Track?

Any thought's?

I just got a response from the Vendor

• One tune will work with each mode. So you do not need to have a individual tune for each mode. Those different modes do not change the tuning with the actual computer and all that, they just stiffen up the steering, turn traction off, help throttle response and things like that. The SCT tune will still work fine in each of those modes.