Intro & Fan Help

DIHLON

Oct 27, 2016
Picked up a 67 coupe with modified 351W this past weekend. This is my first time back in a Stang in about 18 years. I had a couple of early 90's 5.0's in high school. The car has an electric fan and oversized radiator, but still runs hot. The fan is set up as a pusher, not a puller. Also, the fan is turning in the direction below. I think I need to install it as a puller and reverse the rotation, but wanted to get some of your opinions. Thanks.
FAN.jpg
stang1.JPG

• Sponsors (?)

If I understand right, your fan is mounted on the front side of your radiator? If that is true then the direction is right. You want the airflow going towards the engine no matter what side the the fan is on. However, I personally believe that you get better cooling with the fan on the engine side sucking air thru the radiator especially when moving. It also helps to have a shroud if you have room for one. You might check your thermostat (maybe sticking or in backwards) and your timing and fuel mixture. These will all affect temp.

The picture shown is not the actual fan. I pulled the actual fan out this weekend and a search for the model # shows it is out of a 3.0L Ford Taurus. I installed the radiator properly and attempted to install the fan as a puller instead of a pusher, but it will not fit due to the water pump pulley. I ordered a new electric fan/aluminum shroud assembly that should fit with about 1/4" gap between fan and pulley. I am fairly confident this should fix the problem. With the old fan and shroud mounted on the outside of the radiator, I just don't see how enough any air was moving through the radiator at highway speeds.