My build log: 66 coupe, will be 4.6L DOHC

wicked93gs

15 Year Member
Sep 30, 2006
Nashville TN
well, I decided i would start another log(since the last time when my SHO engine was stolen)

This time, this is the plan, the basics:
66 coupe
4 wheel disc brakes
8.8" rear end
4.6L DOHC engine
t5 transmission
mustang II front suspension

Now keep in mind...these are some ugly welds,I'm not a professional welder and I havent cleaned them up yet(they may be ugly but they are strong, that much I can say) , its only painted to prevent rust....anyway some pictures....

12-3-08019-1.jpg

this picture amused me...you dont see it in this stage too often...I have decided I absolutely HATE spot welds....there were about 20 on each shock tower assembly at the bottom holding it to the frame, the top part I just cut away rom the sheet metal with a grinder and a cut off wheel, like butter. I actually cut from the wheel well, since I was planning on welding in the patch panels, you can just follow the line of the shock tower at the back....if you go the other way and bolt them in, you wouldnt be able to do it this way

12-3-08021-1.jpg