Need 12 Volt To Install Fuse Box I Engine Compartment

DocUsn

Jan 9, 2015
I'm trying to run 12 volts to an auxillary fuse block in the engine compartment. where can I hook into get 12 volts. I'm doing this so I can access future accessories that need power. I'm a newbie need help! I have 1972 Mustang covertible with 351 cleveland. Do I hook in just after ignition switch?
Is there a guide I can get? I'm also installing a procompt distributor that requires 12 volts. Any one with ideas? Thanks in advance! from DocUsn

• Sponsors (?)

I'm trying to run 12 volts to an auxillary fuse block in the engine compartment. where can I hook into get 12 volts. I'm doing this so I can access future accessories that need power. I'm a newbie need help! I have 1972 Mustang covertible with 351 cleveland. Do I hook in just after ignition switch?
Is there a guide I can get? I'm also installing a procompt distributor that requires 12 volts. Any one with ideas? Thanks in advance! from DocUsn
Horse sence If I hook the new power source into the positive side of the selinoide can I hook up my new procomp distributor that needs 12 volts into new power source and work okay? I'm a newbie
thanks for your patience!

Dont know what i was thinking ,the 12 volt needs to come from the key switch or the 12 volt to the dist will be hot all the time
That means I can hook into the red/green or is it pink, just after ignition switch, right? I will use 10 gauge wire for the hook up, any other suggestions that I'm not thinking of?

For the dist. wire you will not need a wire as big as 10 gauge . You will need the wire on the key switch that has power when the key is in on position and the start position but nothing in the off position. I don't think the wire is pink right at the key switch but farther in the loom it is pink .

2012-04-30_112741_121212.jpg