New To Forum + Quick Question

Hi everyone
I am joining the forum because I am going to buy a 86 - 93 mustang 5.0 in the very near future. The question I have is should I look for one that is completely stock/original or find one that has been upgraded. I am a tech in the marine field so working on stuff is not that big of a deal. I like the money saving aspect of finding something that has been upgraded but the downside is can you trust the work someone else has done. I thank you all for your input. Will post pics when I find my new toy.

• Sponsors (?)

Seems like you answered your own question... best advise, as you come across a potential one post it up, folks will chime in when theres something to comment on...

It all depends on what your goal is- DD, street/strip, strip. There are pro's and cons to each argument. Finding a low mile, stock car allows you to drive it as is or have a solid foundation to work with. Getting a car that is already worked on can save you time and money. The problem with getting a worked on car is more often than not the car was beat on and/or items like wiring, smog equipment may be hacked or missing. Regardless- you want to check for rust, check the torque boxes, inner fender shock areas and signs of abuse. The interior will tell you the true miles on the car- if the guy says it has 50000 miles and the pedals are worn and interior is rough, most likely it is 150000 miles.

One thing I will say emphatically for the newb is to not buy a 4cyl converted car regardless of the price.

Remember, the reliability/driveability of a car is an inverse relationship to the amoount of work done to it.

Reactions: 1 users
Get something that is close to stock and clean inside and out. It's better to get a poor running car with a clean body, paint and interior as opposed to a car with a bunch of bolt on mods but the paint sucks and the interior is worn. Motors are cheaper and easier to replace, rebuild or modify than interior and body/paint.