New To Stangnet And Desperately Need Some Advice

ericka

Apr 17, 2015
Hi! I'm new to stangnet and am looking for help. I have a 2001 GT convertible. I believe it needs new lift cylinders. Last summer we constantly took the back seat out and added fluid to get the top to go up and down. Each time it just leaked right out. So now I'm ready to get it fixed and no one will touch it. I finally found the part...which says discontinued everywhere. So my question is...where can I find these cylinders? The model number is XR3Z7650600AA. My next question is if I get these someplace I have read everywhere that they are not that difficult to replace. How true is this? Any suggestions? Much thanks in advance

• Sponsors (?)

+1 on a Junk yard. Around my area there are 5 yards that all have at least one new edge convertible. I would got snatch a whole top frame off one and replace it with the old one on the car and from the pics it looks like you need a new top anyway, get one buy going the LRS OR have a pro install the top. I've installed one myself, it was a huge pain in the arse so when my 2000 needed a new one I spent the 800 bucks and had a pro do it just to avoid the aggravation. Make sure if you do it yourself get a helper and try and use a air stapler with stainless staples. The LRS tops are inexpensive and you have to buy the rear curtain and the actual top to do it right. I think you can get a install DVD also that willl guide you through each major step.