No Fuel At High Rpm's

joshw0000

Jul 1, 2014
Hey guys, I've got a '07 GT Mustang w/ BBK ceramic long headers, BBK shorty X pipes, Corsa exhaust, and a Stage 2 Roush supercharger ( http://www.roushperformance.com/parts/Ford-Mustang-Supercharger-2005-2009.html). I'm not the original owner so beside an Exceddy clutch, Hurst short shifter, and 3.55 gears, I don't believe this car has any other (performance) mods.

When I down shift and tach it to about 4,000 RPM's or just accelerate hard in general, the car is not getting gas and sputters. I'm getting about 15.5-16 MPG average (and I'm not typically driving it hard) so fuel is going somewhere. Always use 93 octane. Using the tune by a local Roush dealer who sold and installed the kit.

Any suggestions on where my fuel shortage is or what's causing it to sputter at high RPM's? I'm not a mechanic so feel free to explain in detail. Thanks for any input! I hope it's something simple.

• Sponsors (?)

The headers and exhaust have been on the car for several years. The supercharger and clutch were installed last March. I bought the car a few months ago. The original owner traded in on a 2014 Roush. I got his information (or rather gave mine) through a local dealer so I was able to meet him a couple months ago. He filled me in on the history of the car and sold me the tuner he was using.

Depending on the tuner, you should be able to data log the car's operation. If you can track the fuel rate and voltage to the pump, it should give you a better idea of what is actually happening, which will help figure out why it is happening. Also, examine the fuel lines and make sure nothing has been crushed or pinched. Using a wiring diagram, trace the fuel pump wiring harness, checking for damaged wires and cleaning grounds. When was the last time the fuel filter was changed? Is the car using the factory pump?