O.T. Is there a doctor in the house?

2nd Mustang

Founding Member
Feb 24, 2002
Southern California
My doctor informed me that I have high blood pressure, and that I should monitor it closely, so bought a blood pressure machine and noticed that if I take a reading right after I wake up, it's within a somewhat normal state, around 135/70 (remember I'm older and doc told me to keep it under 140/80), but during the day it's much higher, like in the 170/90 area. I am taking blood pressure medication for a few weeks to see if it helps, but was wondering if the morning reading means it's okay and that just the normal routine of the day causes a higher blood pressure. That's what it seems to me anyway.

• Sponsors (?)

I'm not a doctor, but my wife is a nurse practioner, and she monitors my blood pressure regularly (my doc sorta threatened me). What I've gathered from her is that blood pressure changes based on serveral factors, including active (including even standing and walking around) versus resting (sitting down, lying around, etc.), stressed versus relaxed, and time of day. It's supposedly naturally lower in the morning, but don't ask me why.

So, it makes sense that early in the day while you're resting and relaxed that it's low. And it makes sense that when you're up and active and stressed that it's higher. All of that said, 170/90 ain't healthy even if you're up, running around, doing jumping jacks, all while you're being told you've just been fired and you're Mustang was accidentally crushed. Stick to the medication, but I've personally found that even a little bit of exercise works wonders. Mine dropped from 150/80 to 130/60 in 2 weeks just by taking the stairs, parking further away, not being lazy and walking rather than driving 2 blocks to the corner store (which is how I found a nifty '64 T-bird in a neighbor's garage).

Hope this helps. :shrug: