P To 4.6 4v

Tye Law

Sep 7, 2015
I am beginning to remove my 4.6 2v and I have some questions. I have read that I need to change the oil pan and other small items but is that correct? I was also wondering what all do I have to do to this engine to make 650 hp or so? This engine that I am working with is a 97 lincoln mark viii engine with a about 150000 or so. It runs strong but I'm new to the mustang and I'm somewhat confused with all of these different post about what and what not to do. Please help me to understand before I spend more money than I have to for no real reason. Thanks and I welcome all responses. Please be respectful with the responses. Thank you.

• Sponsors (?)

The Mark VIII block is a good block to start with. If you are going FI the B heads are supposed to be good for boost. If going N/A the 03/04 cobra heads are probably the best bet. C heads are good for N/A as well.

From what I have read it is supposed to be something about the short turn radius in the intake throat area on the 03/04 cobra heads and probably some to do with the exhaust port.

Thanks for that info. Yes I do plan on spending 15000 or so. But can anyone tell me what do I have to change on the motor to make it work? Like oil pan,intake,oil filter adapter things like that. These are the questions that I really need answers for. The amount of money that I plan to spend is not a matter to me bc I know it will be up there somewhat.