Fox Project Progress Thread (87 Lx 5.0 Hatch)

TXAZ33

Dec 6, 2014
Tucson, AZ
This is going to be my project progression page. I bought my 87 LX 5.0 on black Friday but unfortunately it is leaking everywhere. I cleaned it up as best I can only to have it looking about the same a few days later. My wife didn't like the mess it was leaving in the garage either, so I ordered a full gasket set and have now gotten to work getting the engine out for a complete reseal. I hope it stays as just a reseal and I don't end up finding anything wrong with any of the internals. I am not a seasoned mechanic and this is my first "solo" engine pull. I will be doing 95% of the work alone with technical/moral support from a good friend of mine who is a mechanic but lives roughly 1000 miles away. The rest, I will have to take it to someone here locally. If anyone has any special tips or dos and don'ts of resealing the 5.0, feel free to drop a line in the thread or send me a PM. Here are a few pics that I took before getting started and through stage 1 of the tear down.

Attachments

• IMG_0393.JPG
    IMG_0393.JPG
    373.7 KB · Views: 196
  • IMG_0399.JPG
    IMG_0399.JPG
    316.1 KB · Views: 178
  • IMG_0402.JPG
    IMG_0402.JPG
    342.9 KB · Views: 175
  • IMG_0411.JPG
    IMG_0411.JPG
    307.7 KB · Views: 202
  • IMG_0412.jpg
    IMG_0412.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 188
  • IMG_0416.JPG
    IMG_0416.JPG
    293 KB · Views: 174
  • IMG_0426.JPG
    IMG_0426.JPG
    265 KB · Views: 179
  • IMG_0445.jpg
    IMG_0445.jpg
    78.5 KB · Views: 204
  • IMG_0447.jpg
    IMG_0447.jpg
    74.2 KB · Views: 173
  • IMG_0448.jpg
    IMG_0448.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 162
  • Sponsors (?)