Still No Working Temp Guage, Out Of Ideas

LRoak

Jan 2, 2013
Hi, this is my first time posting. I've looked for the next step on the forums but I am out of ideas.

My engine temp guage just pegs to high whenever I hook it up. It worked last year before I tore into the restoration. It's a 65 coupe. Here is what I have done:

I first replaced the sending unit. Tried a few wires and got it working. Go forward a year and now it just pegs at high. I thought maybe there was a short in the wire and it was grounding somewhere along the way. I ran a new wire on the outside of the car and hooked it up. Same result. I thought maybe the voltage limiter was bad, because this is not my only cluster issue, so I replaced the limiter. Same result.

I then pulled a guage out of another 64 coupe to see if it was the guage itself. I got the same result with the other guage.
One thing to note, I thought I was supposed to be getting pulse current out of this limiter but it is just constant, is that the problem?
What can I try next? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks guys.

• Sponsors (?)

What changes have you made over this year? Are you talking about the small voltage regulator on the back of your instrument panel? This is an IVR or instrument voltage regulator. You mentioned you are having other cluster issues, What other issues are you having?
I would first make sure you have the correct wiring diagram (diff years look the same but have diff color coding) and verify your wiring. Second I would check the voltage going in that limiter and coming out (you should get about 5v or slightly more coming out to the gauges). Does your fuel gauge read properly? I would do a continuity check on the ground wires coming off your panel to insure your getting a good ground.

also when you measure voltage out of your limiter (IVR) you will see it as constant voltage although it is actually Pulsed or alternating current but too fast for you to see on a multimeter