Why Can't I Tig/and Why Does This Look So Bad?

CarMichael Angelo

my rearend will smell so minty fresh,
15 Year Member
Nov 29, 1999
Birmingham, al
This:
temporary_zpsc75ff553.jpg

This god awful result is what I get everytime. I know that 90% of the is technique, and I lack technique. I manage to completely weld the seam w/o burn through, but it seems that everyone of these I do end up looking like this. Then theres the monster on the right. I blame that on the fact that the aluminized coating wasn't ground off the one tube, and it just went all to hell.
What is the setting supposed to be on that regulator, and where is the ball supposed to float in the tube, and how is it checked?

• Sponsors (?)

your running to cold on the first weld and more filler on the second best I can tell. You might want to turn your gas up a little bit. whats your welding system look like?

I am just beginning with tig welding. Do decent beads with steel now and just started with alum today, which somehow seems easier? I found the biggest thing for me, possibly because I am left handed I was following the torch with the rod rather then the torch following the rod. Once I made that change things really started looking better. Been having the gas set 15-20. Are you using straight argon? What tungston? Also looks like you need more heat on the weld to the left. One to the right looks like the heat was there but I have no idea why it looks like that.

Gas should be set @15 on the regulator. You look way to cold on the left side, needs quite a bit more amperage. The right side is just dirty, that aluminum coating is impossible to weld through cleanly. You might want to find some way to rest your hand better. The more comfortable you are while.welding the better the result. I have 2x4's 4x4's and even an old paint can handy to prop my arm up to be comfy.

Reactions: 1 user