1981 2.3 turbo help- LOTS OF SMOKE!

derrickwork

Aug 17, 2004
CA
ok, so after a few years of sitting, I changed the fluids and fired her up. I am getting huge plumes of whitish greay smoke under boost. I am not an expert here by any stretch but my guess would be a blown or leaky head gasket? The previous owner replaced the turbo hoping to fix this problem but to no avail. It seems to run very strong despite this. The cop who pulled me over was not pleased as the smoke was HUGE and took a while to dissapate. WOuld rings be another problem? I heard that they are not the strongest point of these motors. Thanks for any suggestions on where to go next.

• Sponsors (?)

if it is white, it is water of some sort.
since you say it is alot of it. I would say the head gasket has blown. find a felpro or a motorsport gasket and plop that on. ohh yah new head bolst are a good idea.

while the head is off check the block and head for straightness. they dont often warp but it is possible. the gaskets only last so long anyways, probably originall to the motor!!

Thanks. Mclaren M81

Thanks, it's an original McLaren M81 with the 170HP variable boost turbo. Looks like I have a fun weekend in store tearing in to this. Any suggestions on upgrading this for performance/longevity without deviating too far from stock to retain originality?

derrickwork said:
Thanks, it's an original McLaren M81 with the 170HP variable boost turbo. Looks like I have a fun weekend in store tearing in to this. Any suggestions on upgrading this for performance/longevity without deviating too far from stock to retain originality?
Is it EFI? or carb turbo?

Dr.

it is a carb turbo.

Attachments

• m81mclaren.jpg
    m81mclaren.jpg
    22.1 KB · Views: 160
Hooolly!!! PFFFFFFfff
I about lost what I was drinking out of my nose!
You got a mcLaren!!!
I am so enveous (SP), is it genuine?
it would be a carbed 2.3 turbo, lowered with blacked out rims, Recaros, Hella lights, and an awesome suspension.

drooooooooool,