1992 FORD MUSTANG GT/COBRA GT need info

jstone

Dec 29, 2008
Hello,
I have a 1992 FORD MUSTANG GT/COBRA GT convertible black on black. It was a special order that included the Cobra engine in 1992, very rare.

The problem is I am trying to sell it, and can't determine how much to charge. I have little experience with auto's and would like some advice on how to prove that it has a Cobra engine.

I pulled a VIN report and it states that it is a Cobra, but I need specific proof for any potential buyers.

preface: I do not have the original sales doc's. The car is in good condition.

My two questions:

How do I determine that it has a Cobra engine?
How can I determine the price for such a rare mustang?

Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

I hate to be the one to shoot you down, but the Cobra engine wasn't even a reality until '93 because they were designing it in '92. What you likely have is a Canadian Mustang, which were labeled GT Cobras and had the same old 302 as any other GT in them. (not bustin your balls or anything...just shedding some light).

Yep it sounds like you have a Canadian Mustang GT that they called the GT/Cobra. Which is just your run of the mill American Mustang GT. There's nothing speical about it at all.

Ford had to use the name 'Cobra' to keep the rights to it, at least thats what I heard.