CAI/tuner dilema: Keep S&B and buy a tuner, or buy used JLT/tuner for $350-ish?

Memphis Raines

Founding Member
Nov 9, 2000
Monroe, NC
I'm getting ready to purchase my first tuner for our Mustang. Currently, I have an S&B CAI on the car which does not require a tune. Originally, I was thinking about just buying a tuner to go with that, so my investment would be about $380. I have come across an opportunity to purchase an used JLT II with an used Xcal 3 for around $350. I think I might be able to get him a little lower. I'm in the process of finding out if his tuner is compatible with my PCM (which I am just learning about for the first time). It appears the only set up difference between our cars is the gear ratios, which I should be able to adjust in the tuner, right?

Assuming that it's compatible, should I go with the JLT II and Xcal or should I stick with my S&B and just pick up a tuner? Would the JLT offer any significant difference in performance?

• Sponsors (?)

sell that S&B and use the cash toward your JLT purchase. That is the EXACT same route I went about a year ago. The guys at Bama told me that the JLT with a tune is about 10-15 hp stronger than the S&B with a tune, which isn't hard to believe once you compare the two intakes side by side. The JLT absolutely dwarfs the S&B. Good luck and hope this helps bud!

-J

This is exactly the kind of info I'm looking for. Thank you! The good news is that I went ahead and pulled the trigger on the JLT and I'm hoping to have it by the end of the week. I've already listed my S&B for sale on a few sites. Can't wait to see/feel the difference! :nice:

This is exactly the kind of info I'm looking for. Thank you! The good news is that I went ahead and pulled the trigger on the JLT and I'm hoping to have it by the end of the week. I've already listed my S&B for sale on a few sites. Can't wait to see/feel the difference! :nice: