Power leather seats

Gary99GT

May 12, 2012
Newbie here . . .my driver side tan leather seat cover in my '99 GT convertible is starting to wear - the passenger seat is very good. I am considering either replacement of the original covers, or just replace the whole front seats. Replacement leather covers are too expensive, and I don't want to go to Autozone for the cheap plastic covers. I understand that the bolt patterns are very similar for several year span. If I can find a nice set of seats from a salvage yard, I might opt to use them in the meantime. Question is: what seats can I bolt in without modifications? Driver seat is power.

Thanks in advance.

• Sponsors (?)

I was faced with the same project in my 00 GT...driver's seat toast, the rest of the leather interior good to excellent. After scraping around to see what might be a "reasonable cost" replacement for one or both front seats (and remembering some previous wrecking yard experiences), I opted to save my money and refurbish the driver's seat with matching leather and new seat foam...made a terrific difference and is straight forward. While getting my money together, I threw a cheap cover over the driver seat, with a piece of extra foam under it to combat some of the deterioration https://www.americanmuscle.com/sideless-seat-cover-headrest-ford-oval-logo.html . I think you'll find similar year Mustang seats to be the only bolt ins...doing something else can be a real project. My 2 cents. BTW, after ordering my upholstery "piece", I noted a couple of sites selling complete interior upholstery sets (minus foam) for a few hundred more than I'd invested...apparently they overstock or have returns from time to time...one was a black and grey Pony interior---had I seen that first, I'd be sitting on that. Happy hunting.

The seat bottom of the 99-04 cars is slightly different from previous cars. It's different from the passenger seat as well.