Slight surging idle issues

baldeagle

Mar 27, 2020
jersey shore
1989 Foxbody 347 running on a microsquirt.

Im a noob with microsquirt and tunerstudio so bare with me. I cant for the life of me figure out my slightly surging idle. It will settle and idle nice if i give a few seconds. I do see my injector pw surging and i think it is causing the AFRs to swing. Im thinking that is why it is happening but i am not sure what cells need changed.Here is a log with it surging and then it settles out half way through, along with the tune.

Thanks!

Attachments

• log24.mlg
    244.9 KB · Views: 100
  • v3.7.msq
    119 KB · Views: 67
  • Sponsors (?)

Looking at the log file, the AFR is fine and relatively stable. I do see the idle valve swing with the rpm, I also see the idle advance swinging to try and get the idle under control until they settle in.
Basically the two are fighting each other.
I want you to make some changes for me.
under general settings change the VE table size from 12x12 to 16x16
change the number of squirts from 4 to 2/alternating
Disable the idle advance and get the idle valve tuned correctly first, also extend the PID ramp to target time from 2s up to 5s
PID= p-70 I-50 d-1 lower the slider to 800
change the rpm window size to 1
you should be using MAT in the initial values table lookup, You also want the initial value set so that the idle comes in a bit high and settles in to target speed.
in your ignition table, watch the blue dot as the engine returns to idle. Add some timing in the overrun cells at 1200 and lower to slow the rate the RPM falls, this will help create a smooth return.

Try these and report back.