V8stang289's 86 Gt That's Taking Way Too Long -progress Thread -

Spent an afternoon last week masking and spraying the moldings and headlight surrounds with SEM trim black.
frontend_zpssouflhbv.jpg

fr_zpsy8f2eil0.jpg

rear_zpsjtq8idqh.jpg

Reactions: 1 user
  • Sponsors (?)

Then today I put the emblems, headlights, and tail lights on. I also installed the spoiler and the rear hatch window molding. Just have to get the mirrors installed, and interior door panels and front seats back in, and get the wheels painted. Front windshield has a crack that developed recently, so I'm waiting on that to be replaced before I install the cowl vent, wipers, and molding.

frontend1_zps2b2m3ypw.jpg

taillights_zpsmndbq5oo.jpg

and just because...

5.0_zpsqpyz77dj.jpg

Reactions: 2 users
For those interested, I used Summit Racing's urethane paint, Ultra Blue Pearl. I also used their High Solids urethane clear. I'm no expert by any means, but it mixed easily and sprayed well from my cheap ingersoll rand gun. It is very reasonably priced, but only time will tell how well it holds up.

That's all the progress for now. Hope to get a few more things buttoned up in the next few days, and hopefully get the windshield installed this week. I've done every bit of work on this car other than charging the a/c, but I'm going to farm out the windshield. It's one of those things where its more cost effective to let a pro do it than to try and screw it up myself :D

Just about got it all together, still need to put the wipers on and a few little odds and ends to finish. Top right of the windshield molding is standing a little proud since the safelite guy left 2 clips out. I'm having a little trouble getting them back in due to the dried urethane, but i'll get it figured out. Also got an exhaust leak at the driver side header to get sorted out.
done_zpsqodysnzt.jpg

Reactions: 3 users