‘89 LX 5.0 convertible mods

Moondog2178

Mar 10, 2024
New York
Hey guys, newbie here. Just bought a 1989 LX 5.0 convertible w/AOD tranny. 38k miles, orig owner, garaged and covered since new. Never seen snow or rain. Been driven 700 miles the last 7 years. Great condition. Only mods previous owner did was 3.73 gears and Dynomax exhaust in ‘07. Looking to wake the car up a bit. Can anyone recommend any other mods? Not looking to race it. I’m 55 and just looking to cruise with it. Thanks for your input

• Sponsors (?)

Rare find

Attachments

• IMG_7135.jpeg
    IMG_7135.jpeg
    276.9 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_7137.jpeg
    IMG_7137.jpeg
    269.8 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_7140.jpeg
    IMG_7140.jpeg
    301.5 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_7138.jpeg
    IMG_7138.jpeg
    243.4 KB · Views: 40
  • IMG_7139.jpeg
    IMG_7139.jpeg
    247.3 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_7141.jpeg
    IMG_7141.jpeg
    379.2 KB · Views: 36
  • Love
Reactions: 2 users
I wouldn't do a thing. Gears are probably the biggest bang for the buck item for the AOD's. After that you are spending $100-200 per bolt-on for 3HP. If the car is just a cruiser, invest in restoration/maintenance instead.

Subfram connectors will stiffen the car up a bit. They join the front and rear subframe together so you should get less convertible rattles. However with such low miles, that car might still be pretty tight.

• Agree
Reactions: 3 users
I wouldn't do a thing. Gears are probably the biggest bang for the buck item for the AOD's. After that you are spending $100-200 per bolt-on for 3HP. If the car is just a cruiser, invest in restoration/maintenance instead.

Subfram connectors will stiffen the car up a bit. They join the front and rear subframe together so you should get less convertible rattles. However with such low miles, that car might still be pretty tight.