'99 cobra basic question

chewbert

Nov 23, 2007
San Antonio
I am looking to buy a 99-01 cobra. Whats the easiest/cheapest way to get an extra 50 or so HP out of it. I am fairly new to this so any suggestions or directions to an existing thread are welcome. Thanks in advance.

• Sponsors (?)

First off...get an 01. 99's had recalls and lower HP ratings....big headache.

First mod.......Gears...... they won't add HP...but they will considerably lower your 1/4 mile time. 4.10's are ideal, but others will say 4.30's or 4.56's...but I personally wouldn't go more than a 4.10 for a street driven/once in a while track car.

More HP can be found in a good set of BBK L/T's, matching H or X pipe of choice, and a good catback. Other mods for staying N/A would be CAI, P&P intake and shorten runners, and U/D pullies.

If you are gonna go forced induction in the future, avoid the CAI, and the U/D pullies. The CAI is discarded and the U/D's have to come back off for the S/C. Of course with forced induction, you need a good tune.

A shot of nitrous will work and is the cheapest route to gain 50 hp.

Also just about all of the 99's had the TSB done and they are on par with the 2001's. They make the same hp. I know mine did back in 2000 when it was dynoed. It is just those that have not had the TSB "fix" done will suffer.

SVT32VDOHC and myself always say get gears first, you will notice the difference big time. He likes 4.10 and I like the 3.73, the 4.10 will get you there quicker. As for 50 more horses without FI or NOS you have to do long tubes, O/R H or X pipe, exhaust, custom tune and a high quality CAI. Together that should be close to 50+ horses.

FWIW, there is nothing wrong with a post-fix '99 snake....just doublecheck to make sure all of the "post fix" goodies are still in place (ie - intake, et al).

And yes, nitrous is your quickest way to get +50hp...unless you want to throw every bolt on at it and spend tons of $$$.