Electric cutout to open headers?

blake44

Aug 19, 2008
I have an o/r x-pipe and flowmaster 40 series mufflers but it was customly welded on by the previous owner and for some reason my car isn't that loud. (or as loud as i want it to be at certain times)

I just wanted to know how much louder the electric cutout will be. The one that opens it at the headers where it's just straight engine coming out? Someone I know has this done on their truck where he hits a switch and it opens up at the headers I'm guessing. How much does that cost to buy the parts and install? I know most people say it's loud and obnoxious but since it's a switch it isn't permanent so I won't be obnoxious all the time lol

• Sponsors (?)

Before I put my catback on I ran my car straight prochamber and it sounded so beastly, and because the sound came after the crossover, it had some sort of tone to it. If it were possible I would run it like that all the time. Try it after the xpipe, I think it will be quite unique, although ive never heard a 4.6 with straight xpipe. Is is a true x or bassani style x? Would a cut out still have some sound going to the mufflers out the back? I would assume all the gas wouldnt go straight out the cutout, im sure that would affect the sound, half cut out, half muffler...:shrug:

:rlaugh: I ran my car with an open prochamber for a while just to change it up. I get so bored with my exhaust that a day with it loud makes me love the magnaflows that much more.

I had this back in the day. It will defiantly get louder, a lot louder, but not in a good way. Defiantly not something you want to drive around with either. I took them off because the damn cutoffs would not close properly, therefore causing a horrible leak. I wouldn't recommend doing it.

If you want louder, change your mufflers.