hi! I'm new to stangnet

Sujeymv

Feb 5, 2022
nc
I have a '08 gt but not too familiar with cars. I was told here was a good place to start. I have a full slp exhaust but want my car to be louder , where should I start?

• Sponsors (?)

Different mufflers
When you say full street legal exhaust? Where you live determines that
Back in the day Ford had a recall on tempo cats
We used to take fox body mustangs (dual them out) (shoryty headers) and put two tempo cats on them and delete the mufflers
Now that is a louder throatier sound than you hear much these days

Anyway- Why do you want the car to be louder? Does the sound of the vehicle mean more to you than the performance? Run larger diameter straight pipes. That's as loud as you can get while still retaining a full exhaust. It's gonna sound like :poo: though. if you don't care at all, just pull the headers straight off the motor. You remove the resonators, pull the muffler, or pull the catalytic converters (though you legally need those to drive on the street)Personally, I would never do that. Those things always sound like garbage. Louder exhausts are not always better and on a naturally aspirated motor you will actually lose power/torque going too big due to a lack of backpressure- scavenging is a big thing on NA motors. On the other hand, boosted cars want to get rid of that air as fast as possible.

TL;DR:

Hit up Youtube and get sound clips of different cat-back exhaust kits. Find one with a sound you like and go with that.
Louder isn't always better.
Install Long Tube Headers (and get a tune or it'll run like garbage)
If you're in a locale where you are not required to do emissions, high flow catalyst pipes or pull em entirely.

Keep in mind adding long tube headers may cause a check engine light, and pulling the cats WILL cause a check engine light- that will fail emissions for you by default.

on a naturally aspirated motor you will actually lose power/torque going too big due to a lack of backpressure