O/T Know anything about guns?? :shrug:

BDT 1967

Jan 31, 2006
Wichita KS
So I recently inherited a new/used gun. I think it resembles the M-39 used in WW2. The only difference is mine doesn't have the forestock that extends all the way up to the front. Also i am no gun expert but it appears to have Russian markings on it. Hoping somebody can shed some light on if i should spend time and money restoring this old gun or just keep it in the back window of my truck for shootin coyotes with.

Also I only got about half dozen brass with the gun the markings on the box say 7.2x54R

• Sponsors (?)

Looks like an old Moisin-Nagant; ca. 1880's. Better examples are often on sale at Sporting Goods chains; as they are considered "Curios and Relics" and not subject to as rigorous laws regarding sale.

If the bolt and receiver are in Good to VG shape, they can be pretty accurate; albeit not extremely powerful. With a tight receiver and a really clean (not-pitted) barrel; you can get good groups out to 200M; but the 7.62x54 is usually loaded to barely much more than blackpowder specs (It's a 122-yr-old design!), so you're not gonna put down much more than a good-sized bunny rabbit at that range.

Your's looks like the typical '65-66 6-cyl Coupe on craig's list...... if that's just surface rust and stock dings on an otherwise good bolt/receiver/barrel; you got something that can be put back together and fired. But if the barrel is really pitted; you're looking at the equivalent of a long-rotted cowl. Badly worn receiver and bolt? Now your talking about that rotted cowl dumping years of water on the floor, rotting it, the rockers and the subframes. It just goes from bad to extremely dangerous.