Where do I put transmission fluid at???

JoshuaWCU

Dec 10, 2010
I know ya'll are probably thinking wtf?? But yes im a noob, I have a 94 3.8 mustang and I think im low on transmission fluid because its making a loud wining sound, but where do i check the fluid at, I know the automatic has a dip stick near the firewall behind the engine, but I have a 5 speed manual. Cant seem to find it anywhere! Just got the car need help asap! New to the mustang world! Can someone maybe send a pic or something? Would be a lot easier! Thanks loads!!:nice:

• Sponsors (?)

The automatic transmission has a dip stick near the right hand side of the firewall.

The manual transmission does NOT have a dip stick. Normally a manual transmission does not use fluid. So unless there is a leak, a manual tranmission does not use fluid.

The issue is further complicated because different manual transmissions have different fill levels. Some are fill until it runs out the top "fill plug". Others are re-filled to 3/4" of the top plug. Still others are re-fill with a specific amount of fluid.

Do you have a leak?

Yes I do! We noticed it when we pulled the axel to check the bearings, all was fine. I replaced a seal while I already had it out. I think I may be just low on fluid, but was hoping I could just add some! Again its a 5 speed manual 3.8L 1994 mustang. Thanks!! Cant drive it till I figure this out!! :(

What seal did you replace? Do you mean you pulled the driveshaft? If you actually pulled the axles and saw a leak, your diff is probably the source of the noise.

If the tranny is low, adding fluid is a real hassle. You need to unscrew a plug in the side of the case from underneath the car and add fluid with a flexible tube. I used an empty Tire Slime bottle that was washed and rinsed and put some vinyl tubing over the nozzle. Any bottle you can squeeze should work, and the clear tubing helps you see how it's going.