where do i start??

sa_andy

Dec 23, 2003
Admittedly,,,I'm new to all this.

I recently bought a brand new 1966 Mustang with only 140,000 miles on the 289 2v (just broken in, right?). So,,,the car runs ok,,,but of course, I'm looking around at all the Mustang sites, and thinking about replacing the engine and the automatic transmission (which leaks more on my garage floor than a new puppy).

My question is, do I buy a new crate engine from somewhere, or do I remove the engine, and take it to a local machine shop and ask them to do their magic on the removed engine? And the same question about the transmission. I guess I'd like to stay with the 289, and I'd like to keep an automatic transmission.

I don't really expect too much. I'd settle for 300 hp. And I guess money really isn't the object here,,,,I just want to have a bit of an adventure with my 13 year old son, and removing, and replacing an engine may fit the bill.

Thanks for your thoughts on this endeavor.

• Sponsors (?)

sa_andy said:
Admittedly,,,I'm new to all this.

I recently bought a brand new 1966 Mustang with only 140,000 miles on the 289 2v (just broken in, right?). So,,,the car runs ok,,,but of course, I'm looking around at all the Mustang sites, and thinking about replacing the engine and the automatic transmission (which leaks more on my garage floor than a new puppy).

My question is, do I buy a new crate engine from somewhere, or do I remove the engine, and take it to a local machine shop and ask them to do their magic on the removed engine? And the same question about the transmission. I guess I'd like to stay with the 289, and I'd like to keep an automatic transmission.

I don't really expect too much. I'd settle for 300 hp. And I guess money really isn't the object here,,,,I just want to have a bit of an adventure with my 13 year old son, and removing, and replacing an engine may fit the bill.

Thanks for your thoughts on this endeavor.