5.0 engine with Tri-Y headers

GT1966

Sep 26, 2002
Maine
Like many 1st Gen owners, I now run a mildly-built (315hp)1986 roller motor in my 1966 fastback. Of course, the firing order for the 5.0 (13726548) is different from the 289 firing order (15426378). Are there any scavanging / pulse ramifications running a header specifically designed for the 289 firing order on a 5.0 firing order engine, or am I splitting hairs? I swear I hear pulses fighting eachother at 2200 rpm. Or is it that damn Flowmaster 40 drone that's killing me?

• Sponsors (?)

no big deal to run the tri-y's with the late 5.0 firing order. remember that you are just swapping the 5-4 cylinders for the 3-7 cylinders in the firing order.
When the tri-y headers were first introduced, they were firing order specific. 1 and 2 are paired, 3 and 4 are paired, 5 and 7 are paired, 6 and 8 are paired. Once you change to the firing order, how can the headers not react differently? I've been running these headers for a few years on this 5.0HO engine, but I'm curious if things would be better with a set of equal length headers rather than the tri-Y?

When the tri-y headers were first introduced, they were firing order specific. 1 and 2 are paired, 3 and 4 are paired, 5 and 7 are paired, 6 and 8 are paired. Once you change to the firing order, how can the headers not react differently? I've been running these headers for a few years on this 5.0HO engine, but I'm curious if things would be better with a set of equal length headers rather than the tri-Y?