AFR 165 & 185 users... any issues w/ rocker arm positioning?

Cobra4B

Founding Member
Oct 11, 2000
Virginia Beach, VA
The 5.0 we have in our Panoz race car utilizes AFR 165s w/ Comp Pro Magnum rockers. Had some issues this weekend at VIR and pulled the valve cover to find the some of the rockers weren't even close to centered on the valve tip.

Speaking w/ Tony Mamo @ AFR this is apparently 100% normal and due to the repositioning of the valves for "more power".

Being as our motor is ues in a HPDE/TT/road racing setting this type of stuff is a bit more critical than a drag car or around town thumper. Anyone have any long term issues with these heads using the standard AFR guide-plates?

Looks like we have the following options:

1. Run it as is and possibly wear out the valve guides prematurely
2. Custom cut and re-weld the AFR guide plates
3. Get Isky adjsutable guide-plates
4. Get shaft mount roller-rockers

I'm new to Ford motors so this is all new to me... never had to deal with this w/ my LSX motors.

Thanks,
Brain

• Sponsors (?)

Something isnt right. Can you post a pic? AFAIK, the valve locations arent moved, and I've never heard of anyone with that problem either. Are all the rockers off? Make sure you didnt bend the pushrods?

BTW, it sounds like you talked to a salesman and not a tech guy :)

I spoke with Tony Mamo... who owns AFR. The valves in the 165s are moved, he told me it's 100% normal to have the rocker arms "pidgeon toed" and that for a road race application I should run shaft mount rockers to correct the issue, or get adjustable guideplates.

Just trying to see if anyone else has this issue.

I spoke with Tony Mamo... who owns AFR. The valves in the 165s are moved, he told me it's 100% normal to have the rocker arms "pidgeon toed" and that for a road race application I should run shaft mount rockers to correct the issue, or get adjustable guideplates.

Just trying to see if anyone else has this issue.