Engine Help with distributor/timing

jjstokes101

Apr 9, 2018
NJ
Hi All,

Newbie here.. I put in a new distributor (88 LX 5.0) and was looking to get TDC but having some issues.

I removed the #1 spark plug and I cranked the engine by hand till I felt the air shoot out. I then go to check where the harmonic balancer is lining up and it is way off, shouldn't it be close to 0?

Thanks in advance.

• Sponsors (?)

Yes, 0deg is TDC. If you are really at TDC, then maybe the balancer has come apart. They are 2 pieces bonded together with an elastomer (rubber).
Google for internet pics. They can slip & lock back together in a different position for a while. Any cracking or bulging is bad.
31 year old balancer should probably be replaced. I got mine at Rock Auto for about $100.

Last edited:
  • Agree
Reactions: 1 user
It's a serious question because GM uses the drivers side front as #1. And someone could be familiar with GM and assume that SBF is similar.

I figure the OP said he was a newbie here. Maybe he's a newbie to sbf too. When I was that way, I made assumptions and was wrong alot.

When you begin to feel air pushing out , it should be on the compression stroke. But just as you “begin” feel air, does not mean the compression strike is completed. It needs to be near completed before the mark on the balancer is close to the zero pointer.

As soon as you feel air pushing out, stop rotating the crank. Pull your finger out and focus on the balancer. Slowly continue the clockwise rotatation of the crank while focusing on the balancer looking for the mark. It may not be close when you first felt air, but it should be on the way soon if you keep rotating.

When you begin to feel air pushing out , it should be on the compression stroke. But just as you “begin” feel air, does not mean the compression strike is completed. It needs to be near completed before the mark on the balancer is close to the zero pointer.