New Pennsylvania Member Here

cpaharley2008

May 3, 2016
Owned a 1966 Mustang and now, 50 years later bought new 2016 GT with track package.

Attachments

• IMG_0419.jpg
    IMG_0419.jpg
    209.5 KB · Views: 164
  • Sponsors (?)

I'm new to the track package, not sure if I turn off the traction control, anyone have an opinion? Also my dealer refuses to install any after market changes, says it voids the warranty?

Welcome! Nice ride. Traction control is up to you. I don't own an S550 so I don't know if it's any different than the S197. If you want to try it out, just find a stretch of open road, turn it off and see how different the car feels. In general, I used to turn it off for situations where I wanted to allow for wheel spin without bogging down. Most aftermarket parts and tunes for the engine will void the warranty. Things like axle backs, wheels, and some suspension work shouldn't but I am not an expert on the latest warranties. I have only heard of one dealership in my area that installs aftermarket stuff, and even then it has to be Ford branded products. It would be very hard to find one that does. Your best best is to find the nearest reputable shop with experience on the S550 and use them.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

If you have the Premium then you can turn TC off with the toggle switch. With TC off you cannot use LC (Launch Control) because LC uses TC to help it. You can also switch modes between Normal, Sport+, and Track. And in each of those modes you can turn off TC or leave it on and use LC. If you lift up on the drive mode selector toggle for like 5-7 seconds it'll disable the Advance Trac system which will turn off the TC automatically. If you are in that mode and try to turn TC back on it will turn the Advance Trac system back on.