Fuel No Fuel but Fuel Pump Turns On

So, I just picked up this 87 mustang 5.0 as a project. The fuel pump turns on, but crank no start. It will start and run only off of starter fluid or gas if thrown in the throttle body. No gas on spark plugs when cranked. What should I do? Seems like fuel is going up the lines, but not coming out the injectors. Dropping whatever ideas would be greatly appreciated. Im new to the 5.0, so im learnin as i go! Also, I tried checking fuel pressure with a gauge instead of just removing one of the fuel lines from the tank, but cannot find the nipple that i put it on.

• Sponsors (?)

Check fuel pressure at the rail, if its low or none go back to the filter and check before after.... If it sat I would drop the tank anyway and go from there, blow the lines out, pull the rail and test the inectors. Sitting for long time tends to kill the fuel systems in these cars.

• Agree
Reactions: 1 user
Check fuel pressure at the rail, if its low or none go back to the filter and check before after.... If it sat I would drop the tank anyway and go from there, blow the lines out, pull the rail and test the inectors. Sitting for long time tends to kill the fuel systems in these cars.
I have a fuel pump. Just gotta install it tomorrow. Ill check the rail too and see whats up with it. The car seemed like it sat for a while from all the grass on it lol.

Just be ready to order a fuel tank, the majority of them are pretty rusty these days if it sat with ethanol blend in it. You can generally refresh the system for under 300 if you shop around with a new tank, pump sending unit etc... There's a bunch of threads on it over the last couple years.

I’ve seen the rubber hose between the pump and the pickup assembly rot out. This will cause no fuel to the inlet side of the filter.

With that being said the guys are on point with the tank most likely being a wreck internally if it sat for some time with ethanol blended gasoline.

Reactions: 1 users