Starting Off First Restoration

redonemeth

May 2, 2007
Houston
Hello, I am David and i am new to these forums. I recently bought a 1966 Ford Mustang Coupe with original 289 and 3 speed transmission. The problem is it just came with an old engine and transmission, its missing a bellhousing and several other parts such has started, alternator, and so forth so basically the car is bare. It has a dent in the front fender and the front end needs a new balance. This is going to be my first restoration and i can get the help of people but i want to do has much has i can on my own. As for experience, i am no master mechanic, but i know my way around a car pretty well and am studying alot on my own. So i was wondering if anyone could give me tips of what things i can do to make this process alot easier and if theres anything im doing wrong. Well, for starters i bought this mustang in dallas and brought down to houston about 2 weeks ago. Its parked at my friends house and one of its tires are flat, but this might not be important at all. I liked at the gauge cluster inside the car and on the speedometer where it reads miles its ran the car reads 440 miles, i dont know if its been reset or if thats the original miles. This is my idea, i plan on removing the engine and transmission and then replacing the fender and body parts it needs. Then to sand down the entire car and replace the interior floorpans(which are looking bad). Im guessing when i remove the engine and tranny ill be able to tell if the motor mounts are good, and what exactly i can do to repair the engine. I was told i can clean up the engine with diesel but i dont know if thats true or not. After i personally sand the car down, i would send it to be primed and painted. Has for suspension, i think the rearend is good, but i have not taken one look at it, my only basis for that theory is that it made 4 hours on the highway with a tow dolley. So if possible i was thinking i could replace suspension after i get the c