Back From Shop: mrvax's Mustang gets Whacked!

mrvax

Stay thirsty my friends
Founding Member
Nov 29, 1999
SN Moderator: Orlando, Fl.
I hit a driver late yesterday afternoon. My duaghter suffered some pretty good necj injuries from the seatbelt. She's home from the hospital & resting now.

I've been driving legalily since 1976. Had 2 accidents before yesterday. I was rear-ended at a red light once and rear-ended in a California highway traffic jam.

No matter how safe you drive, if someone is determined to drive like a fool, then you may have an accident anyway.

I was heading south on a 4 lane road in the left lane at traffic speed. Moderate traffic at the time. Went under a highway overpass and knew there was a ramp on my right that permited a highway exit to the road I was on.

Some guy (probably on a cell phone) in a nice BMW 740 came through that off ramp very fast, entered the road I was on w/o looking, moved from the right lane to the left lane just in front of me.

While he was entering the road I was on I hit my brakes and horn but the bastid kept right on comming right into my lane and there was no way I could avoid him.

My right front fender wailed his left rear quarter and bumper.

After 2 hours, the Florida Highway Police came by. The driver attempted to say that I rear-ended him and he was already in my lane!

I showed the cop the skid marks and where the accident occured and he knew in a second the guy was at fault. The cop phoned my witness and them wrote up the papers. He cited the guy for a failure to yeild, improper lane change, etc.

I'm trying to go through his insurance, Geico and hope to get a resolution soon.

Both air bags deployed, right front fender mashed, rt front headlight, bumper & foglight are history.

:(

Yes, I'm glad we are OK. It could have been worse.

• Sponsors (?)