140 amp alt w/ 4ga power wire - Circuit breaker or fuse?

TheUser

Jul 25, 2003
Springfield, MO
I have a 140 amp powermaster alt on the GT w/ a 4ga wire from the alt to starter relay. I've read about an in-line fuse to prevent a fire, so I went to a local stereo shop to get a 150 amp fuse and fuse holder and it was like $45 for the holder and then like $15 for the fuse. That's crazy! I told him what it's for and he said a circuit breaker would be good ($40). What do you think? Can I get a better deal somewhere online? Should I shoot for a circuit breaker (sounds like a good idea to me), or a fuse and holder? I kinda like the circuit breaker idea so I won't have to worry about replacing fuses, but $40 is more than I expected to spend.

I know Jrichker posted links to the fuse and holder at www.partsexpress.com - the links wouldn't work at the time, but I went to the site and found a bunch of stuff - not sure if I should go the cheap route or what.

Any advice appreciated.

• Sponsors (?)

On my 3G conversion, I went with this Stinger platnium coated ANL fuse holder, and a 150A platnium ANL fuse..(I did the 120A PA unit).

Fuse Holder - $10.95

150A ANL Fuse - $5.95

Here it is installed...

project9.jpg

:)

sn9550 said:
Do a search for "mega fuse". Theey are alot cheaper. I bought a wafer type fuse and holder and I spent like $50. The Mega fuse and holder is $15-20.

Aren't those just an ANL fuse with a plastic box type holder? I prefer the platnium coated for corrosion resistance alone, but to each their own....

:)

sn9550 said:
insane3D I posted at the same time as you so I didn't see your post until after. Mine was gold plated and it's the only one I could find at the time. They saw me coming I guess :shrug: .

Oh, no sweat man, I didn't mean to make it sound like that now that I read it again. I'm always looking for the best "bang for the buck", so I figured if he could get something a tad nicer for the same $$, it might be a better idea.