1990 mustang treated badly, needs restore engine upgrade

Hi Everyone, I'm new to the forum! I bought my mustang gt in 1990 brand new in Taylor, MI when I was 20 yrs. old. I drove it 10 years and was not kind to it, lazy about oil changes, even ran out of oil once (you can judge me, was not the most responsible back then). Fyi I had an accident 1992 when hydroplaned and smashed the rear end into a guardrail, dealer did a crap job repairing it. For the last 20 years it has sat in my garage. About 10 years ago, it stopped starting and has not moved. I am now older, have more time, and think I can restore it (LOL, maybe...).So your first question will be, how good of a mechanic am i? I was a good helicopter mechanic in the Marines for 10 years, so I know my way around tools and principles, but dont know my way around cars. So, where to start? I suspect it no longer starts because of the electric fuel pump in the gas tank (it doesn't whine anymore). Should I get a new engine because I ran it without oil? The rear main seal has leaked ever since the accident...I have a budget of about 6k.

• Sponsors (?)

I’d assess the damage to the engine once you get it started. I my youth I had buddies run their engines down without oil and just top it off and keep going.

I’d address the fuel issue (make sure it’s not the relay under seat. Test for power at the tank when you cycle the key) and get the car running. Then check oil pressure and compression.

Also post pics

Reactions: 1 user
10 yrs even in a garage I would start with removing the fuel tank, inspecting and replacing the pump and filter. Blow out the fuel lines, fresh gas, oil and filter. I would prime the engine just to get the oil circulated through the engine, fresh plugs and new plug wires if needed. But that's just me, I'm kinda weird.

Reactions: 1 user