3G alt question

1991notchbackLX

Dec 25, 2007
New York
OK, I've searched and read through almost everything I could find about a 3G alternator install, but there's only one stupid thing that kind of threw me off. I purchased the PA-Performance.com complete kit from their website and it should be arriving on my doorstep in a day or two. The only question I have is whether or not there is a different way I have to wire this new alternator since I have a FMS High Torque Mini Starter??

JRichter's post in Roland69's thread in the Useful Technical Threads Index is what threw me for a loop, I'm no electrician, but here is the original post. Can anyone help me out? Thanks.

On a Mustang 86-93, the stator wire is the small white/black wire in the same plug as the two larger black.orange wires.

Remove the negative cable from the battery for safety reasons.

Black/orange wires get taped up out of the way and not used. Do not remove or mangle the plug on the end of the wires.

Small 3 wire plug used as is, no changes. It plugs into the same connector on the new alternator.

White/black wire on the plug where the Black/orange wires connect gets insulation stripped from it. Splice another wire onto it to make a Y. Solder the connection and use heat shrink tubing on it to cover the splice joint. Crimp a female 1/4" push on terminal on the new wire or use a connector from an old wiring harness.

attachment.php

Plug the 3 wire plug into the alternator.

Plug the white wire you spliced the into the little tab on the alternator.

attachment.php

Connect the fused 4 gauge wire to the alternator and the battery side of the starter solenoid.
attachment.php

Starter solenoid wiring with a Mini starter or 92-93 5.0 Mustang

attachment.php

I ran the 4 gauge wire under the front of the engine next to the 4 gauge wire for the starter power feed.