97 explorer 5.0 & AOD trans into 65 mustang

Jivy

Mar 2, 2020
Prattsville, Ar
I’m new to forums and I’m new to swapping Engines with computers. I am hoping I can get a few questions answered. I have a 97 explorer with 5.0 and AOD that I would like to put into my 65 mustang. My main concern is wiring/computer. I know there will have to be a few modes as such as oil pan pickup etc but I’m wondering what I will need to do to the wiring harness and computer. I’ve been looking for stand alone online but don’t seem to find any. Also since I have the donor vehicle wouldn’t it make more sense to use what I have. Will I be able to just pull the harness out and just plug it back in once I get it into the mustang. I know this might be simple for someone that has gone thru it or has had experience with a swap like this but it is all new to me and I would appreciate any info that you might be able to pass along.

• Sponsors (?)

I haven't swapped an engine like what you are describing, but from keeping up with what people are doing on here I know a lot of people use MegaSquirt products to run as a stand alone ECU. Holly also makes a stand alone ECU. I've seen people with 5.0 mustang motors in first gen mustangs so it is very doable. You might try fishing around in the digital tuning section of the forum. @a91what does a lot of tuning and might be of some help.

Reactions: 1 user
The stock ecu can do what you want but it will need a tune badly.. If you make any changes to the engine the stock ECU will not be happy.

Stinger sells a Pimpxshift that will do what you want it to, it will plug into the factory harness and both the engine and transmission can be tuned and controlled. The explorer that year i believe runs the AODE not the AOD.

The stock ecu can do what you want but it will need a tune badly.. If you make any changes to the engine the stock ECU will not be happy.