A Little New To Mechanics And Well I Wanna Start Somewhere

strangeclouds89

Jun 7, 2014
Well, i bought a built 5.0, bored, cam, gt40 intake, a few other things, just built 4000 miles ago. Well someone i had working on the car flipped it. Im just now really getting into cars again, when i was 13 i remember working on old 1st gen carbs and intakes and what not. Well, i've got another body that i'm about to buy, another roller to put my motor and t5 in. Well I'm new to the whole mechanic thing really i have most tools needed as far as rachets and wrenches. I can buy other things. but how hard for it it be for my brother and I to transfer my motor and tranny to another body?
Thanks for all the help,
Daniel
Ps its a 89 going into a 90

• Sponsors (?)

Well if you have all of the correct "incidentals" (like accessories, computer, sensors, vacuum lines, bolts, etc.) and an engine hoist, it's not THAT hard. Do you still have your "flipped" car? Having everything right there will make life a LOT easier on you so you can just swap everything from the old car to the new car. If you only have your engine and trans and a roller body to put it in, you could spend a very long time (and $) just searching for all the millions of little bolts and electrical connectors and whatnot.

I'm pretty sure it would be easier to get going correctly if you had a 90 engine harness to go in the 90 car. I think the 90 needs the air bag connectors.

It's not hard to swap an engine, just take plenty of pics so you know where everything goes.

Unbolt the engine out of the 89 and put it in the 90. Everything is a bolt-up if both cars started out as V8's.The transmission & engine mounts are the same and everything should line up and bolt in with minimal problems.