Drivetrain Auto Transmission Sometimes Slow To Shift Into First

Louer Adun

Oct 9, 2012
Hello everyone, I want to first say hi, as this is my first post on the forums here. I just bought an 07 Mustang (V6 4.0l) last week and will likely be visiting here a lot.

Anyways, on to my problem... The Mustang drove great the first couple days I had it, but I was unfortunate enough to run over an opossum the other night, and have had a good deal of issues since. 2 days after I ran over the opossum, the wife was on her way to work and I get a call that the car stopped accelerating and was dead on the side of the road (ugh). I went and picked up the wife and had the car towed to the dealer (I usually do all my work myself but I'm new to automatic transmissions and there was tranny fluid everywhere and I already had sold our second car). Long story short, the transmission cooler line had popped off and dumped all the tranny fluid effectively disabling the transmission. $300 later, the car is back up and running by the end of the day. The next day there is a puddle of tranny fluid under the car, bring it back to Ford and they claim everything is good, there was just loose tranny fluid in the bumper...

Since then the car has driven fine except that sometimes when the car is cold it has a hard time shifting into first. The car generally shifts fine for the first shift of the day, but the first time I stop I'll let off the brakes and the car doesn't roll forward like expected, I give it a little gas and it revs up to about 1200 rpms then starts revving down and the tranny kicks in smoothly. If I give it a little more gas, the tranny still kicks but a little harder and with a chirp of the tires.