Code 542 and 327

Shelton

May 8, 2016
Hello,

My ‘94 mustang GT failed the emissions test. I connected the scanner and it kicked out codes 542..327..and 177. I replaced the o2 sensors and that eliminated code 177 but am having issues with figuring out the 2 remaining codes. The car idles high and the check engine light consistently turns on and off. I was able to do some research and understand it can possibly the egr valve or evr sensor but I am a novice when it comes to this so I could use some help. I read some of the posts relating to code 327 but the explanations are hard to follow. Please help..thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

Hi,
Code 542 is one that may be misleading, especially since you replaced 02’s, as it may cause a lean condition.
Motor ever get an intermittent Fuel Pump prime when you turn the key to start it?
First off, try these:
1) Check your Grounds, Battery to Chassis, Battery to Block, Block to Chassis. Make the connections all solid.
2) Check your Fuel Pressure at the Rail, 30lbs is what you want to see, if not- may be the Fuel filter, or Pump.

Thanks for the response. That’s what I gathered from doing some research that code 542 maybe misleading. I replaced the fuel filter a few years back. I would hope that would not be the issue but I will try the things you suggested.

Any suggestions for code 327?

Hi,
No problem, happy to help you work this out. More details on the table, easier for expedited answers..Believe CCRM’s OK, prime occurs normally, engine doesn’t cut out, fans operate- correct? Then, so far, so good.. Grounds can wreak absolute havoc...
Code 327 is covered, below. Let’s dig in..
-How are you clearing Codes? Jumper on DX Connector, Obd-1 Scan-tool?
-Any other characteristics re: how she’s running, Hot, Cold, rough idle, hesitations, break up at RPM’s, others?
-When this began- what were the first signs.. things occur suddenly..over time?
-Any recently performed work, or aftermarket parts installed?