Excited to join! New Guy in California- 1966 coupe/ 302 swap- 4 speed toploader

Hello everyone! I'm Robert. Just bought a 1966 coupe with a 302, 4 on the floor/ 650 demon carb! She's purdy! Excited to join the forum and gain invaluable information from everyone's years of experience and hopefully I can help someone along the way as well. My first order of business is power (assist) steering and a front disk brake swap. Anyway feel free to reach out, happy to talk mustang anytime!

Side note: I am an actual chemist, not just a name, so happy to talk chemistry anytime as well :) !

Attachments

• Door Open.JPG
    Door Open.JPG
    432.5 KB · Views: 177
  • Sponsors (?)

Ah yes chemistry like your having with your new girl, I mean car.

Wecome aboard. Front disk brakes is a great improvement on early stangs.
When you get tired of the 4 sp. falling out of gear it will be time for the 5 sp swap too.

Welcome to stangnet. I hang out in the fox forums mostly but I'm gonna say something about the power assist steering, unless it is a restoration I would go with the rack and pinion up grade, bigger wheels and tires make the 60's power assist work harder and it's just, well, 60's tech. Do yourself a favor and up grade, it's a bolt on and go thing.
JMO.

Reactions: 1 user

When you get tired of the 4 sp. falling out of gear it will be time for the 5 sp swap too.

Ha yes, my new girl! You know I as loving the idea of keeping the original 4 speed, for the sake of it being original. But I didn't realize it would be falling out of gear. So far reverse is a pain in the ass and hitting the freeway without overdrive is just the worst. So yea maybe I'll do a T5 swap. Have you done any of these swaps before?