Fords new way of measuring HP

willys1

Dec 2, 2003
New Jersey
In 1993,Ford dropped the hp rating on the 5.0 from 225 to 205.They said they were using a new way to measure hp.Critics say it was because the new body style was coming out in 94 and a new type of motor was coming in 96,so they couldnt say the new motor has less hp then the old 5.0.Well the only difference in the engine from 92to 93 was the use of lighter pistons.But Chilton books dont reflect the "new measurement",they say the 93 has 235 hp,which I would tend to believe,because the lighter pistons would allow the engine to produce more power!Does this sound correct ? Im new to the 5.0's so Im just trying to justify a few things.Ive been a GM guy my hole life,forgive me guys I didnt know any better.LOL--Any feed back would be greatly appreciated!

• Sponsors (?)

Actually, it was 215hp as I can remember. I didn't know about using lighter piston's in the 1993 5.0 but I know they wern't forged.

willys1 said:
...and a new type of motor was coming in 96,so they couldnt say the new motor has less hp then the old 5.0...!

That's my theroy. Almost all foxbodies dyno the same stock. The 4.6 SOHC, especailly the 96-98 motors were sad, but for some reason Ford thought the change was nessasary for emmisions reasons and "looking toward the future" althought GM is still pumping out pushrod engines that are kicking the 4.6's butt with half the parts and technology.