Has anyone seen info on a late model IFS swap into a classic stang?

jabb

Dec 14, 2007
I've dug around the interwebs a bit and haven't really come up with much. What I'd really like to do is get the coilovers and rack & pinion steering from a SN197 or a Cobra stuck upfront with a nice 8.8" rearend.

Info at any technical level would be quite appreciated. I'm not an automotive engineer so I don't know all that much about the technical side of suspension design, but I am an engineering student and what I don't know I can learn. Thanks again, all help is most welcome.

EDIT: If anyone has some evidence that aftermarket coilover kits and R&P steering are as good/ nearly as good as the new stuff would be then I might settle going that rout too.

• Sponsors (?)

Thanks, but I've seen that information already. I'd like to go newer too. I absolutely loved the SN65 project but thats far too much work and way beyond my skill level. What I'd ideally like is a new (SN95 or newer) front suspension grafted onto the old body and an 8.8" live rear axle.

You're not finding much info about it on the Google because there's really no good reason to do it. It's a lot of trouble without much return.

You can absolutely do an aftermarket coilover and R&P swap that'll crush the new stuff. Many here will argue, with merit, that you can do better with the best components based on the stock design as well.

There's nothing magic about the new parts. Keep in mind that it's mass-produced stuff designed to perform reasonably well at a minimum cost.

What are you trying to accomplish with the car, and is budget a minor, moderate, or major consideration?

Spend some time searching this forum and you'll learn a tremendous amount. Feel free to ask more questions as well!