Hey guys :) - 2001 GT Premium

Will2001GT

Nov 27, 2011
Hello everyone, glad to be here. I'm new to Mustangs but I have always wanted one. I finally got my first one a few weeks ago, a 2001 GT convertible in silver. It has some nice 17" polished alluminum wheels that make it look great without overdoing it as well. I love it so far.

This is my second post though. My first has to do with the problems I'm now having with the convertible hydraulic system :( I'm not positive what to do but I'm guessing it needs both cylenders replaced. The drivers side is also leaking somewhere as when I pulled the seats out to observe the hydraulic system, under the seats were soaked. The amp (premium version) even had a plastic bag over it! So it seems this was a known problem to the previous owner. Hopefully I can simply change the cylinders and put new fluid in and be good to go without buying a new motor. And hopefully I can find some info on how to stop this leak as I don't want the water blowing the amp/speakers or making a musty smell that it's starting to do. The padding under the back seats were soaked and smelled bad so I took it out.

Here is the thread by the way - http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/849508-problems-convertible-hydraulics-pump.html#post8543326

Hopefully that get's dealt with quickly without having to take it to the Ford place (and under $500), and not having to replace the top as it is still nice and black with no tears, but I don't know why so much water is coming in. It must have been over a liter just from one rainstorm.

Glad to be here and very glad to have my first Mustang even though it's giving me a few hiccup's my first 2 weeks of having it :)

• Sponsors (?)

Thanks for the welcome :)