I started on my car's paint, But im new at this!!

OrangeMustangGt

Founding Member
Mar 7, 2002
Cape Cod, MA
i would like to ask a few questions about paint prep: right now im going to start using 320 grit sand paper, here are a few questions, how do i know when to stop sanding the stock paint, i know through the clear but how do you tell when your deep enough?. Also, can i hand sand it, or do you guys have other suggestions? Next, what grit should i finish with before i spray the primer (70 a gallon i just found out!) i do plan on using bondo to fill all my dents, etc. how does my plan sound? also what type of cleaner should i use right before the primer is sprayed? also any other tips would be great! thanks guys!

• Sponsors (?)